Marc Marquez is the 2018 MotoGP World Champion

Marc Marquez is the 2018 MotoGP World Champion

Marc Marquez is the 2018 MotoGP World Champion
Marc Marquez is the 2018 MotoGP World Champion / runganSport English 2018 © Twitter/Crash

Motegi, EN runganSport — Repsol Honda rider, Marc Marquez managed to come out as the winner in the Japanese MotoGP race, which took place at the Motegi circuit on Sunday (10/21).

The Spaniard was at the same time locking up the world title because now the points were not overtaken again, especially after Dovi failed to finish in two laps before finishing.

The second Japanese MotoGP podium was secured by the LCR Honda satellite driver, Cal Crutchlow.

Following the third place finish, there was the name of the Suzuki Ecstar driver, Alex Rins.

While Movitar Yamaha rider Valentino Rossi managed to finish in fourth place and Angel Nieto Team’s satellite driver Alvaro Bautista finished fifth this time.

The sixth and seventh place finishes this time fell to Monster Yamaha Tech3 Satellite driver Johann Zarco and team mate Rossi, Maverick Vinales.

While the other three drivers who managed to finish in the top ten zone were Repsol Honda drivers Dani Pedrosa, satellite champion Alma Pramac Racing Ducati, Danilo Petrucci and team mate Zarco, Hafizh Syahrin.

Marc Marquez scored a brilliant victory at Twin Ring Motegi today, earning his eighth win of the season, the seventh World Title of his career and his fifth MotoGP World Championship in six years.

The 25-year-old Spaniard is the youngest rider in the history of the sport to win seven World Championships: 125cc in 2010, Moto2 in 2012 and MotoGP in 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018. Marc is also the youngest rider to have won five premier-class titles.

Marc Marquez 2018 World Championship facts so far

– At the age of 25 years and 246 days, Marquez is the youngest rider of all time to reach the milestone of seven World Championships, taking the record from Mike Hailwood, who was 26 years and 140 days old when he won his seventh title, the 1966 350cc crown.

– Marquez is one of only eight riders to have taken seven or more World Championships across all classes, the others being John Surtees (7), Phil Read (7), Carlo Ubbiali (9), Mike Hailwood (9), Valentino Rossi (9), Angel Nieto (13) and Giacomo Agostini (15).

– Marquez is the youngest rider ever to win five premier-class titles, at the age of 25 years and 246 days, taking the record from Valentino Rossi, who was 26 years and 221 days old when he won his fifth premier-class title in 2005.

– Marquez has joined Mick Doohan, Valentino Rossi and Giacomo Agostini as one of only four riders to have taken five or more premier–class titles.

– Marquez has won all his MotoGP titles while riding Honda motorcycles, joining Mick Doohan as the riders with the most premier-class crowns with the Japanese manufacturer (5).

– Only one Spanish rider has won more world titles than Marquez: Angel Nieto, who earned 13 World Championships (seven in the 125cc class and six in the 50cc class) between 1969 and 1984.

– Marquez has won at least five GPs per season over the past nine years, across three categories: 125cc, Moto2 and MotoGP. He is the first rider to achieve this distinction in the 70-year history of motorcycle Grand Prix racing, beating his own record from last year. Previously, Mike Hailwood was the only man to have achieved at least five victories per season over seven years, across at least three classes, between 1961 and 1967.

– Marquez’s current 2018 tally of five pole positions extends his all-time pole record (in the modern era—since 1974, when full poles began to be officially recorded) to an incredible 78 poles across three classes.

– Marquez has won more MotoGP races this season than any other rider (8). He has also scored the most podiums (13) and the most pole positions (5).

Race Results Motegi, Japan MotoGP 2018

  1. Marc Marquez, Repsol Honda 42m 36.438s
  2. Cal Crutchlow, LCR Honda
  3. Alex Rins, Suzuki Ecstar
  4. Valentino Rossi, Movistar Yamaha
  5. Alvaro Bautista, Angel Nieto Team
  6. Johann Zarco, Monster Yamaha Tech3
  7. Maverick Vinales, Movistar Yamaha
  8. Dani Pedrosa, Repsol Honda
  9. Danilo Petrucci, Pramac Ducati
  10. Hafizh Syahrin, Monster Yamaha Tech3
  11. Franco Morbidelli, EG 0,0 Marc VDS
  12. Bradley Smith, Red Bull KTM Factory
  13. Pol Espargaro, Red Bull KTM Factory
  14. Katsuyuki Nakasuga, Yamaha Factory
  15. Takaaki Nakagami, LCR Honda
  16. Xavier Simeon, Reale Avintia
  17. Jordi Torres, Reale Avintia
  18. Andrea Dovizioso, Ducati Team
  19. Scott Redding, Factory Aprilia Gresini
  20. Thomas Luthi, EG 0,0 Marc VDS
  21. Sylvain Guintoli, Suzuki Ecstar
  22. Andrea Iannone, Suzuki Ecstar DNF
  23. Karel Abraham, Angel Nieto Team DNF
  24. Jack Miller, Pramac Ducati DNF
  25. Aleix Espargaro, Factory Aprilia Gresini DNF (DN/eV)

NEXT: Lorenzo “Grateful” to Marquez for Not Blocking His Move to Honda

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *